Candid resources at Chesapeake College
Chesapeake College is a Funding Information Network partner of Candid (Foundation Center). As a member of this nationwide network of libraries, community foundations, and other nonprofit agencies, the library provides visitors with free public access to grant maker directories, books on fundraising and nonprofit management, and Candid’s electronic database, Foundation Directory. The fully searchable database includes detailed profiles of all active U.S. foundations and an extensive file of recent grants awarded by the nation's top funders.
Information on how to access Candid’s resources at Chesapeake College is provided below. Contact Nicole Rioux, Public Services Librarian, at nrioux@chesapeake.edu with any questions.
How to access Candid tools at Chesapeake College
- Foundation Directory Professional and Grants to Individuals are available for in-person access at our Wye Mills location during the LRC's open hours.
- Candid provided remote access to Foundation Directory Essential due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As of May 31, 2022, this access is no longer available. If you are a non-profit organization, you may be eligible for free Foundation Directory Essential through Candid's Go For The Gold promotion.
- Candid's new Social Sector Dashboard gives a broad overview of the non-profit and social sector landscape. This resource is freely available to anyone online.
Print Resources
The library also houses a print collection of resources on such topics as fund raising, grants, nonprofit organizations, proposal writing and other areas of interest. These resources are listed in the Chesapeake College library catalog, ChesCat.
Other Resources
In addition to resources provided by the Foundation Center, the following links are helpful in researching and retrieving grant and nonprofit information:
- Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations
- Enoch Pratt Free Library/Grants Collection
- Enoch Pratt Free Library: How to Start a Non-Profit in Maryland
- Enoch Pratt Free Library: Writing a Grant Proposal
- Governor's Office on Service and Volunteerism
- Mid Shore Community Foundation, Easton
- Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore, Salisbury
- Board Source
