This is the "Home" page of the "Online Resources for Reading classes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Resources for Reading classes   Tags: reading, reading development  

Links to e-books, e-reference sets, and e-journals for students in EDU 214 and 218.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2011 URL: http://libguides.chesapeake.edu/reading Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals about Reading

Reading improvement

Reading Improvement: a journal devoted to the teaching of reading.

Publishes investigative reports and theoretical papers dedicated to improving the pedagogy and practice of teaching reading. Full text, 2002 - present.

______________________________

 Reading Teacher

Reading Teacher

A peer-reviewed journal published by the International Reading Association which considers practices, research and trends in literacy education for children to age 12. Full text, 1988 - present (with 1 year delay).

________________________

Reading & Writing Quarterly

Reading & Writing Quarterly

Addresses causes, diagnosis, prevention, evaluation and remediation of difficulties with reading and writing.

Full text, 1997 – present (with 1 year delay).

________________________

 Journal of research in reading

Journal of Research in Reading

A refereed journal from Blackwell Publishing, features reports of empirical studies and reviews of relevant literature.

Full text, 1997 – present (with 1 yr. delay).

______________________________

These are just a few of the journals of interest to teachers of reading. Find more through the Chesapeake College Library Electronic Databases.

 

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Education

Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed., 2003

A standard in academic libraries that support education programs, provides 850 signed articles, ranging from 1-20 pages in length, written by experts in the field.

         Early Childhood Education, an International Encyclopedia

Early Childhood Education, an International Encyclopedia, 2007.

Articles by more than 300 international contributors consider controversies, theories, policies, practices, people and issues in early childhood education.

Greenwood Dictionary of Education

Greenwood Dictionary of Education, 2003.

The first comprehensive dictionary of education in 20 years, defines 2,600 significant concepts in the field of education.

 

E-Books about Reading

Motivating Reading Comprehension

Motivating reading comprehension: concept-oriented reading instruction. Edited by John T. Guthrie, Allan Wigfield and Kathleen Perencevich. L. Erlbaum Assoc., 2004.

 

A classroom tested instructional method for merging content knowledge, reading strategies and motivational support.

Secret of Natural Readers

The secret of natural readers: how preschool children learn to read. By Ada Anbar.  Praeger, 2004.

 

Details how 6 children learned to read before the age of 4, mixing research and practical advice for facilitating literacy development.

Understanding Reading

Understanding reading. By Frank Smith. L. Erlbaum, 2004.

 

The 6th edition of this classic work addresses the fundamental aspects of the complex act of reading – linguistic, physiological, psychological and social, focusing on what is involved in learning to read.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kristy Floyd
Contact Info
Phone: 410-827-5860
Send Email
Interests:
I'm interested in the arts. If you have a creative paper or project, come see me! On the opposite end of the spectrum, I am also interested in copyright and fair use.
 


Chesapeake College Learning Resource Center • Wye Mills, MD 21679 • 410-822-5400
Chesapeake College | Chesapeake College LRC

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip