This is the "Resources" page of the "SOC 161 Online Resources for Sociology Classes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOC 161 Online Resources for Sociology Classes   Tags: sociology  

Electronic reference books and journals - read them online! Search within each title to find exactly what you need.
Last Updated: May 4, 2012 URL: http://libguides.chesapeake.edu/soc161 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic access to sociology periodicals.

social forces 

Social Forces.

An influential journal of social research published quarterly by the University Of North Carolina and the Southern Sociological Society, it contains articles, commentary and book reviews. Articles address all aspects of the social sciences, particularly the relationship between systems and individuals. In Academic Search Premier, 1974 to the present.

 ________________________

 social problems

 Social Problems.  _

From the University of California at Berkeley and the Society for the Study of Social Problems, issues of this journal often focus on a particular theme, offering  in-depth explorations of topics of interest in the field of sociology. In Proquest Research Library, 2000 to the present.

 _____________________________

American Sociological Review 

American Sociological Review.

Diverse contributions from all fields of sociology are presented in this official publication of the American Sociological Association. In Proquest Research Library, from 1988 to the present, with a 1 year delay. 

 __________________________

 Social Research

Social Research: An International Quarterly of the Social Sciences.   

Theoretical discussions of social science topics by authors from around the world appear in issues usually devoted to a single subject, sometimes from a political point of view. In Academic Search Premier, 1990 to the present.

 

 

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Sociology

Encyclopedia of Sociology. 2nd edition. Macmillan, 2000.

337 academics contributed lengthy essays on theories, concepts, areas of study, subfields, research methods and analysis. Articles are challenging and fully documented with references.

Basics of solciology

Basics of Sociology. Greenwood Press, 2005.

  An introduction to the core concepts in sociology, this title covers major figures and theories and addresses issues including culture, social interaction, groups, deviance, control, stratification, population, change and social behavior.

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology. Cambridge University Press, 2006

Includes concise definitions as well as substantial articles on key topics in sociology written by academics from around the world. Entries include schools, theories, theorists and debates, recognizing both historical sociological traditions and new, evolving influences..

 

More, More More!

Find more e-books (print books too!) in the Online Catalog. Search or browse by subject, author, title or keyword.

 

Find more periodical articles in the Library’s Databases. Try searching in Academic Search Premier and Proquest Research Library.

 

There’s even a database just for you – Research Starters: Sociology – with overview articles on many topics of interest to undergraduate sociology students.

Eric Phetteplace

Profile Image
Eric Phetteplace
Contact Info
410-822-5400 Ext. 245
Send Email
Position:
Emerging Technologies Librarian
Interests:
I'm interested in how we can use online services to expand the library's reach. If there's anything you think the library could use, don't hesitate to contact me.
 


Chesapeake College Learning Resource Center • Wye Mills, MD 21679 • 410-822-5400
Chesapeake College | Chesapeake College LRC

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip