Start Searching
OneSearch doesn't have everything! If you can't find what you need, check our Database A-Z list for more specific databases, or stop by the LRC to chat with a Librarian. Check out the tabs below for info on finding specific types of sources. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.
Types of Sources
Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:
- Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic
- "Review" means the article is approved by other experts before publication
- Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
- Intended for an academic audience
Find Articles:
You can find many articles online using OneSearch. Watch the short video below to see how!
Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:
- Are written on a broader, general subject
- May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
- Contain less recent information
Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Find Books:
You can find print books and other physical resources like DVDs in our catalog, ChesCat. Watch the short video below to see how!
Psychological tests and measures:
- Are research tools, such as surveys or questionnaires, used to investigate a particular aspect of human psychology.
- Can be somewhat difficult to find in full text. Published reports from a study may only go over results but not give the full test that was administered. You may have to do a little digging, or reach out to the authors of a study, to get the original test or measure that was used. If you need help, come see us at the library!
Find Tests & Measures:
In PsycArticles, use the search tools on the left. The last filter is for Tests & Measures. For help, reach out to the Library.
News articles:
- Are written by journalists for a broad audience
- Are written and published within a short time frame
- Are not as extensively reviewed as academic journal articles
- Corrections may be published after the original article publication, as new information comes out
- Usually provide sources for information like quotes and statistics, though not as formally as an academic journal article
Find News Articles:
You can find many news articles in OneSearch. View the video in the "Journal Articles" tab for an overview of using OneSearch. If you can't find what you need there, you can also try the databases below.
- National Newspapers CoreFive national newspapers offering thorough coverage of local, national, and international events. Includes the Baltimore Sun, the Christian Science Monitor, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
- Access World News Research CollectionResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources, from 1980s to current, updated daily.
Websites:
- May be published by organizations, individuals, corporations, government bodies, etc.
- May be continuously updated or not updated at all
- May or may not provide sources for information presented
Find Websites:
Websites are especially useful if you already have an idea of what you are looking for. For example, if you need statistics or information from the website of a particular organization. Government websites in particular are very good places to find statistics on the economy, population demographics, health, crime, housing, transportation, etc.
Search for government websites by adding site:.gov after your search! Example: maryland demographics site:.gov
