Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library

Online Resources for Early Childhood Education Students: E-Encyclopedias

Electronic reference sources, e-books and journals brought to you by Chesapeake College Library.

Search within each title

       Early Childhood Education

Early childhood education: An international encyclopedia. Praeger, 2007.

Articles by more than 300 international contributors consider controversies, theories, policies, practices, people and issues in early childhood education. In ABC-CLIO E-book Collection.

 

 

 

Encyclopedia of children and childhood: In history and society. Macmillan, 2004.

300 scholars contribute articles on children's history worldwide, focusing on the social and cultural aspects of childhood, from antiquity to the present. In Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Education

Encyclopedia of Education. Macmillan, 2003.

A standard in academic libraries that support education programs, this reference source provides 850 signed articles, ranging from 1-20 pages in length, written by experts in the field. In Gale Virtual Reference Library.

  Encyclopedia of human development

Encyclopedia of Human Development. Sage, 2006.

600 signed entries present research and information based in psychology, individual and family studies, education and physical science. The articles address birth, infancy and early childhood development and education, moving on to adolescence, adulthood and aging. In Gale Virtual Reference Library.

   Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence. Thomson Gale, 2005.

With an emphasis on health issues of children under the age of 4, this encyclopedia explores physical, cognitive and behavioral development. Articles cover developmental stages, social issues, family life and childhood diseases and disorders. In Gale Virtual Reference Library.

    Pioneers of Early Childhood Education

Pioneers of Early Childhood Education: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide. Greenwood Press, 1998.

After an essay on the history of early childhood education from the 17th century to the present, there are biographies of 30 prominent individuals with summaries of their contributions and annotated lists of publications by and about them. In ABC-CLIO E-book Collection.

Subject Guide

Andy Taylor's picture
Andy Taylor
Contact:
410-822-5400 ext 2245
Website