Archive.org's huge library of images

Search several image sources for openly licensed material.

Free images from libraries all over the world.

A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.

Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download.

Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the new York Public Library's collections.

Over 2.5 million+ high quality royalty free stock images, videos and music.

An open-access database of image collections shared by institutional users of Shared Shelf.

A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.

Freely-usable images.

Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, with others available for paid licensing.

Curated list of free online lectures from universities such as Berkeley, UCLA, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.

A large collection of movies, films and videos that are all free to use.

Not "Open" but licensed by the library so free to students. Thousands of quality academic videos, most with closed captioning and with several languages represented (including Spanish).

Full episodes and clips from numerous NatGeo programs.

A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes.

Access to full episodes and clips of selected programming, including NOVA and Frontline.

Offers 5,000 advertising-supported documentary and Independent films.

Archive of around 2000 talks from experts in diverse fields. Generally short and engaging, these videos can easily be linked to or embedded within other items

A collection of films that aims to provoke thought, awareness, and critical thinking on current events, cultural topics, and social issues.

YouTube's college and university channel.