Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library

Annotated Bibliographies: Basics

What are they & how do you write one? This guide will give you some tips.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Usually, when you write a paper, you 1) find your sources, 2) evaluate their quality, 3) use them to write an essay, and then 4) add a bibliography of sources used to the end of your paper. An annotated bibliography essentially skips step 3), so you find, evaluate, and cite your sources but you don't write the paper.

Annotated Bibliography Steps

  1. Research your topic using the library's resources.
  2. Evaluate your sources for quality using the CRAAP test.
  3. Write a bibliography listing your sources in the appropriate citation style. NoodleBib can help!
  4. Annotate your bibliography by writing a couple paragraphs which summarize and analyze each source.

See the different sections of this guide for more information on each step.

Examples

Still unsure what an Annotated Bibliography is?

Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) has some great examples in both APA and MLA format.

Below is an example from OWL: note how it begins with a single citation to Anne Lamott's "Bird by Bird" and continues with a couple paragraphs. The first paragraph summarizes the content of the source while the second paragraph analyzes the source.

Subject Guide

Kristy Floyd's picture
Kristy Floyd
Contact:
LRC, Room L201
410-822-5400 x2282