e-Blueprint
A key resource for instructional design is the College's e-Blueprint. The e-Blueprint was developed by the Committee for Teaching and Learning using elements from Quality Matters and from checklists from the Education Services department at Instructure (Canvas). It incorporates elements of Universal Design for Learning principles, pedagogical best practices, and quality course development methods.
How To Use
The star(s) in the top left corner of the left column references what type of criterion is demonstrated.
★ Rating indicates an expected and standard design component.
★★ Rating is considered best practice.
★★★ Rating is exemplary.
The e-Blueprint includes the sections presented in the tabbed window below:
Course Information
Section 1 of the E-Blueprint Course Development Review focuses on the Course Information.
| Review Item |
Example (Possible Evidence) Note: Links in this column are to pages in the TLC Professional Development Course or Canvas Guides |
|
★ A.1 Home Page provides visual representation of course; a brief course description from course catalog, a welcome module with introduction; clear instructions for students (e.g. where to begin) and navigation to current content in less than three clicks. |
Course uses a Home Page throughout the course. Students are directed to content instead of a list of modules or other links. |
|
★★ A.2 Home Page utilizes a course banner with imagery that is relevant to subject/course materials. |
The home page includes a horizontal banner image across the top of the page. Can be topic or college related. For College provided image, contact the Teaching and Learning Center. |
|
★★ A.3 Course card provides visual representation of subject by adding an image in Course Settings (Settings (i.e. an image of a microscope for a science course) |
The course includes a subject related image provided for the Course Card that is available in the Dashboard.
|
|
★ A.4 Course Navigation - Ensures the top five links are in the following order:
The Support/Policies and LRC Services links to campus policies and resources available, including the LRC helpdesk, and explains what resources are available as direct links for students are hidden from Course Navigation. NOTE: This navigation is the default setup. Faculty may choose to enable Assignments, Discussions, Quizzes, etc. if the preference is to give students direct access to those items. Canvas Guide - Navigation Links |
All terms provide this navigation setup. When copying courses please review to assure navigation is as described. This setup directs students to Modules and all content provided therein. When Assignments, Discussions, and Quizzes are enabled this permits students to bypass other course pages. |
|
SYLLABUS & WELCOME MODULE |
|
|
★ A.5 Course syllabus is posted in the LMS Syllabus page and a link to a printable PDF that contains all required information as designated by the college is provided (information available in the Faculty Resource Guide). |
The course syllabus page includes all course information provided by the faculty AND a link to a PDF version. |
|
★ A.5a Instructor provides course specific learning outcomes, policies for grading, late work and make-up work, communication, instruction and expectations, guidelines, contact information, office hours (online and in-person), biographical information, and other relevant details or helpful advice with links provided to campus resources, and sets expectations for assignment turnaround/feedback. This information can be provided in the syllabus page and the Welcome module. |
This information is included in the syllabus and/or the Welcome module. |
|
★ A.5b Student is made aware of participation expectations; course specific technology requirements; and supplemental textbooks, reading lists, and course materials. This information can be provided in the syllabus page and the Welcome module. NOTE: General technology requirements provided in the Support/Policies tab. |
This information is included in the syllabus and/or the Welcome module. |
|
★ A.5c Instructor directs students to Support/Policies link for statements regarding academic integrity, netiquette, and the college honor code, including consequences for violating that code. |
This information is included in the syllabus and/or the Welcome module. |
Course Content Design
Section 2 of the E-Blueprint Course Development Review focuses on Course Content Design.
| Review Item |
Example (Possible Evidence) Note: Links in this column are to pages in the TLC Professional Development Course or Canvas Guides |
|
★ B.1 Content is "chunked" into manageable pieces by leveraging modules (e.g. organized by units, chapters, topic, or weeks) allowing the course to support outcomes, be appropriately paced, and evenly distributed. |
Course content is structured into modules that include pages, assignments, discussions, and quizzes. This enhances the student experience and streamlines their navigating the course. |
|
★★ B.2 Modules and items within modules have a thoughtful naming/numbering convention (e.g. name the module "Module 1 - Skipjacks in the News - Chapter 1," or "M1-Skipjacks in the News-Chapter 1"). |
Modules follow a uniform naming/numbering structure. This enhances the student experience and streamlines their navigating the course. For example:
|
|
★★ B.3 Modules begin with an Introduction/Overview page |
Each module includes an introductory page providing a description, objectives, list of activities, and relevant links/files. This sets student expectations at the module level. |
|
★ B.4 Text headers and indentation are included within modules to help guide students. Design is consistent across modules with consistent terms and labels. Canvas Guide - Add Text Header |
Headers and indentation help students navigate the course and provide a contextual relationship with course content. |
|
★ B.5 Offers access to a wide range of course specific resources to support content. All links, files, videos, and external URLs are active and working. Canvas Guide - Link Validation |
Adding various resources and using multiple media helps students synthesize information, address different learning styles, and can provide diversity to course content. |
|
★ B.6 Provides activities and assignments that promote achievement of learning outcomes ---UDL 5.3 Build fluencies with graduated levels of support for practice and performance |
Activities and assignments focused on student outcomes assists in providing relevancy and agency. When possible, scaffolding activities and assignments throughout the course allows students to build on previous learning. |
|
★ B.7 Modules include at least one of three forms:
|
Use of discussion forums and group projects with expectations and prompts support Student-Student and Student-Content interaction. While individual Student-Teacher interaction usually focuses on feedback provided through evaluation of submitted assignments, the intent here is for Student-Teacher interaction for all students in the course. This can be in follow-up prompts or comments from the teacher in discussion forums and course announcements summarizing feedback on submitted work. |
|
★★ B.8 There is a "Ask the instructor" discussion |
Provide a pinned discussion in the Getting Started, Welcome, or first module where students can address questions to the faculty about the course regarding content, assignments, quizzes, other activities, and expectations. |
|
★ B.9 Uses appropriate features of the LMS (gradebook, announcements, etc.) |
Adding announcements as part of the course design and planning on how to use the gradebook (Grouping graded work, use of Speedgrader, use of rubrics) aids in course management and helps with setting student expectations. |
|
★ B.10 Citations provided for attribution and copyright. Copyright law is followed throughout the course. Copyright statement included on the course home page. NOTE: Contact Library Staff for assistance with copyright review. Canvas Guide - Copyright Resources
|
Assure copyright is followed throughout the course. Recommended course home page includes the following statement: These materials are made available at this site solely for the educational purposes of students enrolled in this online course offered by Chesapeake College. These materials may be protected by U.S. Copyright law and should not be reproduced or transmitted electronically. One photocopy or printout may be made of each item for personal, educational use. Notice of Nondiscrimination: Chesapeake College is an equal opportunity, affirmative action, Title IX, ADA Title 504 compliant institution. |
|
★★★ B.11 External tools (e.g., Quizlet, Khan Academy, Padlet, Nearpod, CK-12) are embedded within modules or in a page, assignment, discussion, or quiz using RichContent Editor. Canvas Blog - Web 2.0 Tools ---UDL 5.2 Use multiple tools for construction and composition |
|
| ★★★ B.12 Auto-open Inline Preview used thoughtfully and selectively in support of course outcomes. Use for emphasis or when content is best presented in original format. |
Files are incorporated within course pages, discussions, assignments, etc. Use overlay setting instead of opening a new window. |
|
★★★ B. 13 Provides multiple ways for students to show mastery of material (discussions, essays, research papers/projects, multimedia projects, etc.). Personalized learning is evident (e.g., utilized module completion requirements and/or prerequisites). Canvas Guide - Adding Prerequisites ---UDL 5.2 Use multiple tools for constructions and composition |
|
|
★★★ B.14 Differentiation is evident (teaching materials, assignments and assessments take into account diverse learning styles, as well as other factors such as gender, culture, ethnicity, soioeconomic status and personal interests). Canvas Guide - Differentiation |
Differentiation is evident when providing assignments for specific students, creating content and assignments for auditory, visual, and kinesthetic learning styles, and sources of information reflect diversity in gender, culture, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status. |
|
★★★ B.15 MasteryPaths are included Canvas Guide - MasteryPaths |
From the Canvas Guide, "MasteryPaths allow instructors to configure differentiated learning content that is automatically delivered to students based on their individual source assignment scores." This is an adaptive learning approach. Consult the Teaching and Learning Center. |
|
★★ B.16 Encourages self and/or peer review by providing meaningful opportunities to reflect upon and informally evaluate draft work. |
Includes assignments with peer review settings selected. Create self-review assignments (use reflection prompts). |
Community Building/Social Presence
Section 3 of the E-Blueprint Course Development Review focuses on Community Building/Social Presence.
| Review Item | Example (Possible Evidence) |
| ★ C.1 Invites and encourages students to share an introduction, as well as personal learning goals at the beginning of the course. There is a "Welcome" or "Let's Get Acquainted" discussion. | A discussion forum is provided in a Getting Started, Welcome, or first module. Provide a due date. Points are optional. With points it serves as a graded activity and satisfies having attended requirements for online. |
|
★★ C.2 Provides ample activities for student-to-student interaction (discussions, peer reviews, group interaction, etc.) Note for reviewer: Select one star if one type of interaction is present, two if all are present. ---UDL 5.2 Use multiple tools for construction and composition |
See B.7 and B.16 in Course Design |
|
★ C.3 States expectations for participation in discussions (including reinforcing netiquette) ---UDL 9.1 Promote expectations and beliefs that optimize motivation |
Thorough instructions help set expectations and avoid confusion. For discussion forums, include instructions for deadline for initial post, frequency, quantity, and other deadline/time requirements, requiring citing of sources. |
|
★ C.4 Posts critical, reflective questions for discussions. |
Discussion questions are open ended. Could be multi-part to include reflective component. |
|
★ C.5 Uses inclusive language. |
Provide group projects or create student groups to encourage peer interaction. Provide prompts to help students ask peers and teachers questions or provide support. |
|
★★ C.6 Uses course announcements when appropriate. Includes announcements as part of initial course design. |
Compose and schedule announcements as part of initial course design or setup. Add announcements for feedback and to show presence during the course. |
|
★ C.7 Establishes and fosters a positive and encouraging environment by contributing (but not assuming ownership of) to discussions. |
Assure commenting/replying to each student in discussion forums at several points throughout the duration of the course. Add a follow-up to a discussion as needed to spur conversation. |
|
★★ C.8 Maintains a consistent and obvious presence in the course. |
Use of announcements and presence in communications forums are key methods to maintain a presence for all students in the course. |
|
★★ C.9 Provides ongoing and meaningful communication beyond the comments on graded assignments (i.e. announcements summarizing learning and course progress, additional content as necessary, summary comment in discussions). ---UDL 9.1 Promote expectations and beliefs that optimize motivation |
Use of announcements and presence in communications forums are key methods to provide ongoing feedback and foster communication throughout the course. |
|
★★ C.10 Informs students (if applicable) when he/she will be out of contact for any extended period of time (announcement). |
Provide an announcement and send message via the InBox (Latter not available to reviewer). |
Assessment of Student Learning
Section 4 of the E-Blueprint Course Development Review focuses on Assessment of Student Learning.
| Review Item | Example (Possible Evidence) |
|
★ D.1 Multiple methods of assessments are used (e.g. discussion, assignments (individual or group) and quizzes) and articulates how they proactively support a wide range of learning styles and abilities of all students. Considers different learning styles and provides support in a variety of formats. ---UDL 5.2 Use multiple tools for construction and composition ---UDL 5.3 Build fluencies with graduated levels of support for practice and performance |
See B.13 Evidence of various means for students to work and be assessed throughout the course. For example; a mix of writing and presentation assignments or a choice to complete an assignment by writing or video/audio/PowerPoint. Structure the course to release content when an assignment is successfully completed. Meet with TLC staff to consult on development. |
|
★ D.2 Detailed instructions and guidelines for completing assignments and discussions are provided in the assignment or discussion. ---UDL 4.2 Optimize access to tools and assistive technologies |
Thorough instructions help set expectations and avoid confusion. For written assignments include word count, APA or MLA format if necessary, and instructions for references. For discussion forums, include instructions for deadline for initial post, frequency, quantity, and other deadline/time requirements. |
|
★★ D.3 Sample assignments are provided to illustrate instructor expectations. ---UDL 5.3 Build fluencies with graduated levels of support for practice and performance |
Samples are provided in assignments or in course content. |
|
★ D.4 LMS Gradebook and Speedgrader used to score and provide feedback. Canvas Guide - Speedgrader (Note: Gradebook setup reviewed during initial course design review) |
Gradebook setup reviewed as part of course design. |
|
★★ D.5 Rubrics used to evaluate assignments and/or discussions. Canvas Guide - Rubrics |
Provides students with expectations and objective assessment of their submitted work. |
|
★★ D.6 Outcomes tied to assessments. |
Use of Outcomes feature and connect outcomes to graded activities. |
|
★★★ D.7 Learning Mastery Gradebook enabled for visual representation of Outcome mastery. Canvas Guide - Learning Mastery Gradebook |
Use of the Learning Mastery Gradebook incorporates using the Outcomes feature and providing criteria for levels of mastery. Please consult with the TLC for use. |
|
★ D.8 Provides opportunities for students to reflect on their learning. ---UDL 4.2 Optimize access to tools and assistive technologies |
There is evidence some Assignments or Discussion prompts ask students to reflect on their learning and/or development during the course. |
|
★ D.9 Requires college-level, mature writing in all correspondence from students. ---UDL 9.1 Promote expectations and beliefs that optimize motivation |
Sets expectations for informal and formal writing through stressing netiquette, MLA or APA format for formal papers, rubrics for assessing writing, and instructions in discussion forums. |
Course Accessibility
Section 5 of the E-Blueprint Course Development Review is for Accessibility encompassing ADA compliance. Teaching and Learning (TLC) staff conduct a review of the course for this section.
| Review Item | Example (Possible Evidence) |
| ★ E.1 Accommodation Statement is present and easily located (e.g., on Syllabus, Home Page or Course Overview, Support and Policies page) |
Recommended Syllabus and Course Home Page includes the following language: Notice of Nondiscrimination: Chesapeake College is an equal opportunity, affirmative action, Title IX, ADA Title 504 compliant institution. |
|
★ E.2 Color does not overpower the course information. Sufficient contrast between text and background makes information easy to read. Color is not used in isolation to convey meaning (e.g., color and bold are used to indicate importance). Canvas Guide - Accessibility Checker |
Color does not overpower, Additionally, people with color blindness, color sensitivity or color insensitivity may have problems with colors. Using the Accessibility Checker provides assistance when proofing content for color concerns. |
|
★ E.3 Images are used to support course content (e.g., banners, headings and icons) and accompanied by text descriptions (Alt text) or captions for more complex descriptions. Canvas Guide - General Accessibility Design Guidelines |
Text readers will read the file name if alternate text not provided. Image file names may not be descriptive. |
|
★ E.4 Styles (e.g. Paragraph, Heading 2, etc) are used to format text with a preference to use sans serif (e.g., Arial or Helvetica) fonts. Canvas Guide - General Accessibility Design Guidelines ---UDL 4.2 Optimize access to tools and assistive technologies |
Using styles available in the content editor and sans serif fonts provides for a clean and simple layout. Easy to read. Text readers will identify headers as “Header.” |
|
★ E.5 Hyperlink text incorporates the hyperlink destination/purpose (avoid raw URLs, e.g., https://www.canvaslms.com) and include words and phrases to provide context for screen-readers (e.g., use "Canvas Guide - Hyperlink" rather than "Canvas Guide"). WebAim - Introduction to Links and Hypertext ---UDL 4.2 Optimize access to tools and assistive technologies |
Use descriptive text with a hyperlink instead of the actual link. For example Chesapeake College instead of http://www.chesapeake.edu Most text readers say “link” before the text. The latter link would be spelled out if used, h-t-t-p, colon, backslash, backslash…. |
|
★ E.6 Audio materials (mp3, wav, etc.) are accompanied by a transcript and videos/screencasts are close-captioned. Canvas Guide - Create Caption Files |
Only use external audio/video files that come with a transcript or closed captions. When creating media for a course use native close captioning tools when possible. Contact the Teaching and Learning Center for assistance. |
|
★ E.7 Tables are only used for tabular data. |
Use tables only to present data and not to format content in pages. |
|
★★ E.8 Uses formal and/or informal student feedback to help plan instruction and assess the ease of online technology and accessibility of course. |
Use of announcements and comments in discussions to provide feedback. Formal feedback may be planned at the end of modules or topics. Informal feedback is more frequent and spontaneous. |
|
★★ E.9 Provides visual, textual, kinesthetic and/or auditory activities to enhance student learning and accessibility. |
The course provides content through a combination of text, audio or video, use of visual aids, or activities requiring students to demonstrate physical activity through recorded media. (i.e. demonstrating exercise for a wellness course, conducting a lab experiment, recording a speech) |
Resources
Universal Design for Learning: External Resources
- National Center on Universal Design for Learning
- UDL Guidelines—Version 2.0
- Best Practices for Building Universal Design Principles into your Canvas Courses
Universal Design for Learning: Canvas Community Resources
- Design a Mobile Ready Course with Universal Design InstructureCon presentation by Kate Miller, CU Online
- Share UDL Course Design Tips, Tricks, and Techniques
- Commons Course: Universal Design of an Online Course
- Universal Design for Learning Principles in Canvas
- Implementing Universal Design for Learning on Canvas
Citation
CAST (2018). Universal Design for Learning Guidelines version 2.2. Retrieved from http://udlguidelines.cast.org
