Skip to Main Content

Innovation, Learning, and Effectiveness

Faculty Resource Guide: Library

Guide for full and part time faculty

Library

 

The library is in the Learning Resource Center (LRC) which serves as the academic commons of the college. The library contains over 28,000 books, over 80,000 ebooks, streaming videos, and electronic journals. The library features an online catalog, friendly librarians, wireless network, public computers, and group study rooms. In house materials are supplemented by access to over 50 online databases.

Resources

  • Web site

    • The public facing web site can be reached at the link above. Students will most likely find the library, however, through MyCampus by utilizing the “LRC Services” tab.

  • Study guides

    • The guides provide help to students on frequently asked questions such as MLA and APA formatting, annotated bibliographies, and how-to use some Microsoft software. The library continually updates and adds to these guides.

  • Databases

    • The library has MANY databases for students to choose from. OneSearch searches the majority of the databases at one time. Be advised, however, that not all databases are included. Please contact a librarian for any questions about using OneSearch.  

  • Copyright

    • Teaching, learning, research and creating new works is at the heart of the higher education classroom. Faculty, staff, and students need to understand copyright and fair use in the educational environment.

  • Hours

    •  Please note that hours change between semesters and during the summer.  

A few ways that librarians help faculty:

library

Library Instruction

Professional librarians provide face-to-face information literacy sessions as well as services for distance-learning, online, and dual enrollment students. Librarians work with faculty in developing quality assignments.
 

Embedded Librarians

A librarian can be embedded in a faculty member's course(s) to support students with their research needs. More information about embedding a librarian in a course can be found in the Embedded Librarian and Tutor Guide.
 

Study Guides

Librarians can custom design a study guide of resources based on course or assignment needs.
 

Resources

For specific resources for a course, please contact one of the librarians.The library uses criteria when selecting materials to add to the collection. View the library Selection Policy.
 

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

OERs have benefits for both students and faculty by providing cost savings for students and providing the flexibility of enhancing regular course content.

Links to Information on OERs:

The Librarians

For any of the support options listed above, please contact either of the librarians.

Kristy Floyd at kfloyd@chesapeake.edu.

Nicole Rioux at nrioux@chesapeake.edu.