Library

The library is in the Learning Resource Center (LRC) which serves as the academic commons of the college. The library contains over 28,000 books, over 80,000 ebooks, streaming videos, and electronic journals. The library features an online catalog, friendly librarians, wireless network, public computers, and group study rooms. In house materials are supplemented by access to over 50 online databases.

Resources

• Web site

  • The public facing web site is https://libguides.chesapeake.edu/home. Students will most likely find the library, however, through MyCampus by utilizing the “LRC Services” tab.

• Study guides

  • The guides provide help to students on frequently asked questions such as MLA and APA formatting, annotated bibliographies, and how-to use some Microsoft software. The library continually updates and adds to these guides. https://libguides.chesapeake.edu/guides

• Databases

  • The library has MANY databases for students to choose from. The full list can be found here: http://libguides.chesapeake.edu/az.php. OneSearch searches the majority of the databases at one time. Be advised, however, that not all databases are included. Please contact a librarian for any questions about using OneSearch.  

• Copyright

  • Teaching, learning, research and creating new works is at the heart of the higher education classroom. Faculty, staff, and students need to understand copyright and fair use in the educational environment. For information about copyright and academic use see https://libguides.chesapeake.edu/campus-copyright 

• Hours

  •  Please note that hours change between semesters and during the summer.  

A few ways that librarians help faculty help students:

Library Instruction

Professional librarians provide face-to-face information literacy sessions as well as services for distance-learning, online, and dual enrollment students. Librarians work with faculty in developing quality assignments. 

To collaborate on instruction or arrange assistance, contact Public Services Librarian, Nicole Rioux at nrioux@chesapeake.edu.

Embedded Librarians

• Ask a librarian to participate in your Canvas course. They are happy to work with faculty to support students. 
• More information about embedding a librarian in a course is be found in the Embedded Librarian and Tutor Guide. 
• Contact Nicole Rioux.

Study Guides

• Librarians can custom design a study guide of resources based on course or assignment needs. Contact Nicole Rioux.

Resources

• If faculty need specific resources for a course, contact Nicole Rioux.
• The library uses criteria when selecting materials to add to the collection. View the library Selection Policy.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

• OERs have benefits for both students and faculty
  • Saves cost for students
  • Enhances regular course content
• Links to Information on OERs
  • https://youtu.be/ZFeyCc6we-s
  • https://wiki.creativecommons.org/wiki/What_is_OER%3F
• To explore OERs, contact Kristy Floyd at kfloyd@chesapeake.edu.

8.8.22

 Please check the  college website for the most up to date information.